Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Order of Australia

what it is:
to recognize Australian citizens and other persons for achievement or for meritorious service.
why in news :
Oct 2012, Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard announced that Sachin Tendulkar will be conferred the membership of the Order of Australia, an honour “rarely” awarded to non-Australians.
Other Indian awarded:
 Soli Sorabjee former Attorney General-for service to Australia-India bilateral legal relations” in 2006
Other non-Australian awarded:
Brian Lara,Clive Lloyd

No comments:

Post a Comment